WATCH: Fawad Ahmed's Catch To Dismiss Usman Khawaja Opens Up Soft Signal Debate Again
Watch Fawad Ahmed's controversial catch to dismiss Usman Khawaja
Cricket is a game of margins and marginal calls mean one has to select sides if the decision is correct or not. Generally, low diving catches divide the viewers and such an incident happened in the Knockout match of the Big Bash League(BBL) today.
Sydney Thunder's Usman Khawaja came down the track and tried to hit a lofted inside-out drive but got a thick outside edge towards the short third man, Fawad Ahmed, who had to dive forward to take the catch.
Trending
However, it was a close call and the umpires sent it upstairs while signaling the soft signal as out.
With the ball dipping, it looked like the fingers were underneath the ball but it also looked like the ball was touching the grass. The commentators weren't sure as well but Ricky pointing reckoned it was a clean catch.
"I don't agree with it, but I have to accept it"
— cricket.com.au (@cricketcomau) January 23, 2022
Classy stuff from Usman Khawaja on his controversial dismissal at the MCG tonight #BBL11 pic.twitter.com/BP3AWmWDDn
With not much conclusive evidence, the third umpire had to standby with the on-field umpire's soft signal - OUT.
Also Read: Ashes 2021-22 - England vs Australia Schedule and Squads
"The soft signal shocks me. It's difficult for the third ump on the replay, so the soft signal matters. I asked the ump if he can be 100% sure if that ball didn't touch the ground," Usman Khawaja said after the dismissal in a sideline interview.